Car Accident Injury Lawyer – MN Threshold

MINNESOTA AUTO ACCIDENT LAWYERS – NO FAULT THRESHOLD REQUIRED TO GET INJURY COMPENSATION

The No-Fault law in MN makes sure that everyone’s medical bills are paid (up to $20,000) after a car accident regardless of fault.  However, additional compensation for a car accident injury beyond medical bills and lost wages, e.g. pain and suffering is restricted unless the injured person meets a certain threshold. This is something our experienced car accident injury lawyers in MN can discuss with you when you call our office for a free consultation.

The statute that discusses this can be found here: https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=65B.51. The statute basically provides that even if the other driver is at fault, the injured victim can only get additional compensation if he or she meets the following threshold.

No person shall recover damages for noneconomic detriment (pain and suffering or other compensation from a car accident injury) unless:

(a) The sum of the following exceeds $4,000: (1) reasonable medical expense benefits (related to the car accident injury) paid, payable or payable but for any applicable deductible, plus (2) the value of free medical or surgical care or ordinary and necessary nursing services performed by a relative of the injured person or a member of the injured person’s household, plus (3) the amount by which the value of reimbursable medical services or products exceeds the amount of benefit paid, payable, or payable but for an applicable deductible for those services or products if the injured person was charged less than the average reasonable amount charged in this state for similar services or products, minus (4) the amount of medical expense benefits paid, payable, or payable but for an applicable deductible for diagnostic X-rays and for a procedure or treatment for rehabilitation and not for remedial purposes or a course of rehabilitative occupational training; or

(b) The injury results in: (1) permanent disfigurement; (2) permanent injury; (3) death; or (4) disability for 60 days or more.

(c) For the purposes of clause (a) evidence of the reasonable value of medical services and products shall be admissible in any action brought in this state. For the purposes of this subdivision disability means the inability to engage in substantially all of the injured person’s usual and customary daily activities.

If you have been injured in a car accident in MN and have questions about the No-Fault threshold, call our office to speak with an attorney for a free consultation. Pam Rochlin and David Rochlin are Minnesota personal injury lawyers with more than 25 years’ of experience representing hundreds of people injured in car accident  cases. We will discuss your case with you, answer your questions, and explain your rights. Our auto accident injury lawyers are also happy to meet with you at our office or your home for a free consultation. A lawyer will meet with you to discuss your car accident injury case at our offices in Minneapolis MN, St. Louis Park, Woodbury, and Edina. You can meet with a car accident injury lawyer to discuss your car accident cases at your home in St. Paul MN, Anoka MN, Chanhassen, Chaska, Eden Prairie, Maple Grove, Rogers, Brooklyn Park, Bloomington, Richfield, Apple Valley, Roseville, Maplewood, and other surrounding cities in Minnesota.  Our attorneys also meet people at hospitals including HCMC, Abbott Northwestern, North Memorial, and Regions. There is no obligation on your part, and you never pay us anything unless you are compensated for your injuries.