HOW LONG DOES CHILD HAVE TO SUE FOR DOG BITE IN MINNESOTA?
In Minnesota, the statute of limitations for a dog bite case is usually 6 years from the date of the incident. However, for a child or minor, the statute of limitation is extended until at least their 19th birthday. If a child is bitten by a dog at age 4, for example, six years would mean they only have until age 10 to make a claim or sue. However, the law in MN would still allow the child to sue or bring their claim until their 19th birthday. On the other hand, if the child was 16 when they were bitten by a dog, they get the full six years to bring the compensation claim. In other words, the rule is really 6 years of their 19th birthday, whichever comes last.
DOG BITE LAWYERS MN
Our dog bite lawyers have represented many children bitten by a dog. We do not advise people to wait until the last minute to bring their claim and take advantage of the extended statute of limitations. When you wait many years to bring your dog bite case, witnesses memories fade, the child’s memory fades, and the level of people’s sympathy may decrease. However, we have represented a number of people who were bitten be a dog as a child and decide to pursue the case after they turn 18 – usually because they are bothered by the dog bite scar and want compensation so that they can have it improved by a plastic surgeon.
If your child has been bitten by a dog, you are welcome to call us for a free consultation with an experienced dog bite lawyer. Our lawyers have more than 25 years’ experience representing hundreds of people throughout Minnesota. Our primary focus is to make sure our clients get full compensation for their injuries, including medical bills, future treatment, and compensation for pain and suffering.